Ivy Tech Indianapolis Receives 2023 Award for Excellence in Outstanding Postsecondary Program of Study

Ivy Tech Community College Indianapolis School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering, and Applied Science is the recipient of the 2023 Indiana Award for Excellence for Outstanding Postsecondary Program of Study. 

Awarded by the Indiana Office of Career and Technical Education (CTE) under the Governor’s Workforce Cabinet, Postsecondary Program Award winners are chosen based on program design, resource utilization, and outcomes. 

Led by Dean Steven Bardonner, the School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering, and Applied Science at Ivy Tech Indianapolis prepares students for high-wage and high-demand careers. 

The School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering, and Applied Science is all about preparing the new workforce for the State of Indiana. There are certification programs and associate degrees in the areas of manufacturing, construction, engineering, and other related areas. Any program of study within the school gives students a hands-on training experience that is backed by industrial-recognized certifications.

“The students take what they learn in the classroom, and they put it to practice using equipment that is very similar to what they will actually use on the job,” Bardonner said. 

Following nominations from CTE directors, instructors, postsecondary representatives, and other stakeholders, the nominees for accomplished secondary and postsecondary students, programs of study, employer partnerships, and guidance counselors in CTE throughout the state are evaluated on a set of identified criteria.

“Award recipients represent the best of CTE from across Indiana, whether individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to CTE, programs of study that exemplify the highest standards, or partnerships that have promoted or expanded CTE opportunities within an Indiana community,” the Indiana ACTE website states of each category’s winner.

Each Award for Excellence winner was honored with a ceremony at the Marriott East Indianapolis on Wednesday, May 3, where all received special recognition. 

Ivy Tech had a full table at the recognition ceremony that included President Sue Ellspermann; Dr. Mark Lausch, Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs; Bardonner; Ron Finney, the School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering, and Applied Science Department Chair; Jeff Evans, the Assistant Department Chair for the School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering, and Applied Science; Keith Huettl, Associate Professor of Automotive Technology; Tony Harter, Instructor of Automotive Technology; and Chris Cox, Automotive Tech Conversion Instructor. 






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: